Spotify To Launch Across Africa, Caribbean and Latin America

Streaming service Spotify has announced that it will launch across Africa, Latin America and the Caribbean. The rollout will also include Asia and Europe and will expand its availability to more than a billion people around the world.

Spotify, CEO Daniel Ek said:

“Spotify at the moment is available across about half of the world, but there are still millions of creators and billions of listeners who don’t yet have access”.

Listeners in the new regions will have the ability to sign up for free and paid Premium plans; in select markets, Spotify will offer Individual, Family, Duo and Student Plan options too. It will be available on mobile and with its desktop web player, with some exceptions. The company will work with partners to introduce Spotify on more platforms, including TVs, speakers, wearables and cars in the coming months.

Listeners will also be able to select and search from Spotify’s worldwide catalogue — one that may be limited by licensing rights, but Spotify said it “will continuously work with local rights holders and partners to expand its catalogue to include more local offerings.” In the majority of these markets, Spotify will launch with its full podcast catalogue, with some exceptions. For the others, the company said it would work with local partners to introduce more podcasts. 

Spotify’s new markets will be Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Botswana, Brunei Darussalam, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Chad, Comoros, Côte d’Ivoire, Curaçao, Djibouti, Dominica, Equatorial Guinea, Eswatini, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Lesotho, Liberia, Macau, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Micronesia, Mongolia, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Tanzania, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Categories: UK News

Tagged as: , , , ,

Follow MAD NEWS UK on

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow me on Twitter




February 2021
%d bloggers like this: